Update from Naxos Music Library

At 12:01 AM on August 1st, 2009, the NML will retire it’s Windows Media Player and Microsoft Silverlight servers, and offer only an Adobe Flash player. Read more at http://naxosmusiclibrary.blogspot.com/

We subscribe to this database. Let me know if you have any problems accessing it while on campus or from home.



New Content for Music Online

AMERICAN SONG: 231 albums (4,294 tracks) from Archeophone Records, Folk Era, Mark Custom, and Wind River Records.
– Rare and early recordings from the turn of the 20th century from Archeophone Records, including the complete Bert Williams recordings, vaudeville and minstrel recordings, 1917 ragtime recordings, early phonograph recordings, Edith Wilson, Guido Deiro, Marion Harris’ complete Victor releases, and more.
– University marching band music from Mark Custom Records, featuring marching band concerts from Florida State University, the Fightin’ Texas Aggie Band, the Marching Illini, JMU’s Marching Dukes, and others.
– Historic and contemporary folk music from Folk Era/Wind River. Folk Era artists include The Kingston Trio, The Brandywine Singers, Glenn and Holly Yarbrough, plus Paul Robeson’s Peace Arch Concerts and the Welsh Transatlantic Concert.

DANCE IN VIDEO: 14 videos released.
– Performances and interviews from the Alive & Kicking Series
– Performances by the Cullberg Ballet, the Nederlands Dans Theater, Li Chiao-Ping, the American Dance Festival Repertory Company
– Interviews with Trisha Brown and Wu Jing Shu
– Documentaries on ballroom dancing and on the Royal Academy of Dancing
– Restaging of “State of Darkness” with Molissa Fenley and Peter Boal.

AFRICAN AMERICAN MUSIC REFERENCE: Seven new titles (4,009 pages) from Beacon Press and Columbia University Press.
– Ella Fitzgerald: The complete Biography, by Stuart Nicholson
– Hip Hop Matters: Politics, Pop Culture, and the Struggle for the Soul of a Movement, by S. Craig Watkins
– One O’Clock Jump: The Unforgettable Story of the Oklahoma City Blue Devils, by Douglas Henry Daniels
– The Velvet Lounge: On Late Chicago Jazz, by Gerald Majer

CLASSICAL SCORES LIBRARY: 642 scores (40,450 pages) from contemporary music publisher Universal Edition.
– Richard Rodney Bennett
– Alban Berg
– Luciano Berio
– Pierre Boulez
– Anton Bruckner
– Frederick Delius
– Leos Janacek
– Gustav Mahler
– Frank Martin
– Arvo Pärt
– Max Reger
– Wolfgang Rihm
– Richard Strauss
– Anton Webern
-Alexander von Zemlinsky

Upgrade to Playlist Functionality in Music Online Databases

Highlights of the new functionality:

* USER PROFILE UPDATES:  Users can now add information to their profile.  They can upload a photo, can include citations and links  to outside research/papers published and, in the About section, faculty/staff can input information about their position and what courses they teach.  Any user with an existing registration can now edit their profile to include these items.  Just login, and click on “My profile” and then “Edit my profile” to amend an existing profile.  New registrants will be prompted to enter this information in upon registering (though not all of the information is required for registering).

* LOG-IN CHANGES:  Once you have logged into your account on one product, your login will be recognized, and you will be automatically logged in if you switch to another product on the platform within your browser session.

* PLAYLIST CHANGES:  The playlist browse now looks and functions like other browses in the Music Online platform, meaning  that you can re-sort on any column in the browse, including author name, annotation, number of items in the playlist, and our featured column.  Note that the “My institution’s Playlists” tab is the default so that patrons can easily  find their required listening/viewing lists, followed by “My Playlists” and then “All Playlists.”  Users can also now search for playlists by title, annotation, and author.  If a playlist is made public, the author name is hyperlinked to their profile page, so users can see other playlists/clips that the author has created.

* PLAY ALL ITEMS IN A PLAYLIST:  There is a new play icon next to each item in the playlist browse which will play all items in a playlist, within the same page, regardless of content type.  Items will advance automatically in the audio and video players, and there are previous/next buttons to advance for non-playable items such as scores, images, text reference, etc.

* FEATURED PLAYLISTS:  Featured playlists now appear on the homepage and we will be featuring many new playlists alongside new content on the homepage with each monthly data upload.

* CLIPS BROWSE: Clips are now part of the standard browses and users can now sort on clip annotation, author, clip duration, parent title, and clip title.

African American Music database renamed American Song

We now have access to 50,000 tracks in American Song, an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, and ordinary people. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

When using American Song, you can easily limit your search results to African American music specifically if you want to, in one of these two ways:

  1. From the top toolbar, click Browse Genres. On the search screen, select the subject category called African American Music. You can narrow further by sub-genre, ensemble, artist, etc.
  2. From the top toolbar, click either Browse Albums or Browse All Recordings. Both search screens have a box labeled “restrict results to African American content only.” You’ll see the box on the upper right hand corner of either search screen, on the upper right corner of both browses.

Music Online Search Engine Add-On

Alexander Street Press now has a search engine add-on to enable subscribers to search Music Online from their browser toolbar.

You can install the plugin for Music Online here:
http://alexanderstreet.com/resources/addons.htm. The plugin will install
automatically if you are using Firefox. There are instructions on how to add the plugin for Internet Explorer on the link above.

Separately, you can use the link posted on the homepage of Music Online at:

NOTE: This will work while you are on campus…to access Music Online from off-campus, be sure to go through the WebVPN first, http://search.library.cmu.edu/rooms/portal/page/23287_Off_Campus_Wireless_Access

Music Online

We now have access to Music Online! This database lets you cross-search audio, video, scores and full-text reference content from the following Alexander Street Press music databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes:

  • African American Music Reference
  • American Song
  • Classical Music Library
  • Classical Music Reference Library
  • Classical Scores Library
  • Dance in Video
  • Opera in Video